If you have a newly acquired disability and want to access the NDIS, you need to meet the access criteria.

The eligibility requirements at a glance

  • I need to be under the age of 65 years.
  • I have to live in Australia, be a permanent resident or have a permanent visa.
  • I need to have a diagnosis of a permanent disability (acquired brain Injury or spinal cord injury) which affects my functional ability and day to day life.
  • I expect to require support for the rest of my life or I need some supports now to reduce my support needs in the future (early intervention under section 25 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013).

If you are under 65 and have a spinal cord injury, you will most likely be eligible for the NDIS unless:

  • you receive funding from Lifetime Care and Support (icare)
  • you receive funding from Worker’s Compensation
  • you do not meet the eligibility criteria.

Applying for the NDIS

If you meet the above requirements, there are four steps to apply for the NDIS:

  1. Request an access request form from an NDIA planner or NSW Health staff or by calling the NDIA on 1800 800 110.
    You will be asked to provide some information about yourself and your disability.
  2. Complete the personal details of the access request form.
  3. Ask a health care professional to complete the disability details part of the access request form or to provide a separate letter. Talk to health care professionals about supporting documentation that can be sent with the form.
  4. Send the completed form to the NDIA, along with any supporting documentation.

You will be notified by the NDIA if you have been granted access to the NDIS.

What if my access request is declined?

Not everyone who applies for the NDIS will be found to be eligible for the NDIS. If your access request is declined and you are not sure why, ask an NDIA representative why you were found to be ineligible, and what other supports you might be able to access. You can also ask the NDIA to review the decision.

If you are not eligible for the NDIS, you may be able to access other supports.

The NDIA will be able to provide advice and referrals to:

  • mainstream supports - services the government provides to the Australian public. They can include mental health, housing, education, employment, justice and child protection.
  • community supports - including sport and leisure activities, and community participation.
Page Updated: Wednesday 8 May 2019
Contact page owner: Government Relations